Wanted All Over the World – George Thorogood and The Destroyers – Kentucky 1980

This is one of a series of posts expanding on my 50 States in 50 Dates blog by documenting the global touring adventures of George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers and the earlier years of their career.

Quick Links:

Armando’s Palace.

Date:  December 10, 1980.

Venue: Armando’s Palace. 2470 Bardstown Rd. Louisville, KY. 40205. USA.

Find it on Google Maps: https://maps.app.goo.gl/ycioAv2JdPoAHngGA

Venue Exterior

1982:

Above: Huey Lewis poses for a photo in front of Armando’s Palace in 1982. Source: Laura Levine/Corbis via Getty Images.

2023:

Venue Interior:

1981:

Source: Courier Journal. Nov. 12, 1981. Pg. B1.

Opening Act: Unknown. 

Poster / Flyer / Handbill: I have not yet seen a poster, flyer or handbill to advertise this concert. Please send me a note if you have a lead.

Press & Promotion: I am still looking for any print advertising used to promote this show. 

Ticket Price:  Unknown.

Ticket Stub: I have not (yet!) seen a ticket stub from this concert. Please send me a note if you have a scan or photo to share.

Attendance:  Unknown. The official capacity of Armando’s Palace was 750 people, however, some shows at the venue reportedly had upwards of 1,200 attendees.

Source: Courier Journal. July 16 1980. Pg. B1.

Set List: Unknown. 

Was the Concert Recorded?  Unknown.

Concert Photos: I have not uncovered any photos from this concert to date. Please get in touch if you have any to share.

Concert Reaction: I am still looking for a printed review of the Destroyers’ concert at Armando’s Palace, circa December 1980. Please send me a note if you can point me in the right direction. 

Other Notes: None.

Fate of the Venue: Armando’s Palace closed in 1984.

Source: Courier Journal. June 3, 1984. Pg. F12.

One thought on “Wanted All Over the World – George Thorogood and The Destroyers – Kentucky 1980”

Leave a comment